charlie,
The situation you present has nothing to do with "catch/no catch".
Also, technically, the abandonment rule does not apply to a BR before he reaches 1B; but that's really a technicality.
I probably would have just announced the out when I judged the BR out without giving the reason, but I doubt I would "complain" if my partner did as you did. But then, I tend not to hold "rules clinics" while I am officiating a game.
JM
__________________
Finally, be courteous, impartial and firm, and so compel respect from all.
|