View Single Post
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 14, 2002, 12:48pm
Rog Rog is offline
Official Forum Member
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 289

Please specify what league, i.e. High School, College, Little League, Babe Ruth, etc. and what rules are utilized in this game.

For the most part this is the ruling across the board -

6.06 A batter is out for illegal action when_

(c) He interferes with the catcher's fielding or throwing by stepping out of
the batter's box or making any other movement that hinders the catcher's play
at home base.
EXCEPTION: Batter is not out if any runner attempting to advance is put out,
or if runner trying to score is called out for batter's interference. If the
batter interferes with the catcher, the plate umpire shall call
"interference." The batter is out and the ball dead. No player may advance on
such interference (offensive interference) and all runners must return to the
last base that was, in the judgment of the umpire, legally touched at the time
of the interference. If, however, the catcher makes a play and the runner
attempting to advance is put out, it is to be assumed there was no actual
interference and that runner is out_not the batter. Any other runners on the
base at the time may advance as the ruling is that there is no actual
interference if a runner is retired. In that case play proceeds just as if no
violation had been called. If a batter strikes at a ball and misses and swings
so hard he carries the bat all the way around and, in the umpire's judgment,
unintentionally hits the catcher or the ball in back of him on the backswing
before the catcher has securely held the ball, it shall be called a strike
only (not interference). The ball will be dead, however, and no runner shall
advance on the play.

"Enjoy the moment....."
Reply With Quote