Thread: First for Me
View Single Post
  #19 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 14, 2009, 02:28pm
OHBBREF OHBBREF is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Ohio, cincinnati
Posts: 813
Quote:
Originally Posted by rwest View Post
The correctable error we are talking about is when an official erroneously counts or disallows points. Remember the correctable errors are for officials setting aside a rule. If one official sees the foot on the line but the other official counts the basket as 3 points the crew as set aside a rule and counted pionts that were not earned. The scorekeeper can not set aside any rules, therefore, any mistakes in scoring made by them can be corrected until the officials jurisdiction ends.
The OP situation occurs and now if the opponent scores (dead ball) the ball is inbounded (live ball) and comes back down the floor and there is another score (dead ball) the ball is inbounded (live ball) and the ball is lost out of bounds, (dead ball) and team a Calls time out, and the scorer or coach asks if that shot was a two or a three you can not correct it because it is outside the period of the correctable error?

I think not - you can get the score right in this situation, because the score has been recorded in the book it can be corrected to be a two or a three at any time. If it isn't in there you may have another issue, but once they write it down it is the scorer's fault whether it is or it isn't.
__________________
New and improved: if it's new it's not improved; if it's improved it's not new.
Reply With Quote