Name changed in book at halftime
Just had a fellow official give me a call for my take on the following situation that occured in his game last night. I stumbled a little in my interp and told him I would present it to you folks.
Upon returning from halftime, the crew is informed that the visitors made a change in the book. They did not change a number. They changed a name.
It seems that the name by the number was not even a player who was on the team. R decided it was a administrative T and started the game with home shooting two.
Under 3-2-a thru e, I could find no direct reference to the above situation. However, in 3-2-1, the rule book states that each team shall supply the official scorer the name and number of each player.
All of the casebook plays I read have to do with changing a number.
Since we as officials identify all of the players by number and not by name, is this really a technical foul?
__________________
Failure is fertile ground on which to plant new seeds.
|