Quote:
Originally posted by FBFAN
Can someone clear this up for me?
What is an awarded fair catch? Can someone give me an example?
|
An awarded fair catch is only awarded to a team if the kicking team commits kick catching interference. If the kicking team commits kick catching interference, the receiving team may opt to:
1. Take an awarded fair catch at the spot of the kick catching interference.
2. Force K to replay the down (usually 4th down) 15 yards from previous spot.
3. Decline the penalty and take the results of the play. (Maybe the R team scored a touchdown)
Quote:
Originally posted by FBFAN
Also, after a team attempts a free kick, what happens if it's, a) good.
|
Assuming this is after a fair catch or awarded fair catch, the kicking team scores 3 points for a successful field goal and they will kick off (like they would after a successful field goal attempt from scrimmage).
If it is a kick after a safety or a kickoff, this is nothing more than a touchback and the R team gets the ball at the R-20.
Quote:
Originally posted by FBFAN
b) no good and ball goes out of bounds . . .
|
No matter WHAT type of free kick it was, if it goes out of bounds between the goal lines (i.e on the field of play) it is treated just as if it was a kickoff. If R touched the ball before going out of bounds, R takes it where it went out-of-bounds. If R did not touch it, they can
1. Penalize K 5 yards and replay the down.
2. Take the ball where it went out of bounds.
3. Take the ball 25 yards beyond the spot where K kicked the ball.
Quote:
Originally posted by FBFAN
. . . or out of endzone.
|
Touchback once it crosses the plane of the goal line (if kick after fair catch/awarded fair catch is not good).
Quote:
Originally posted by FBFAN
c) no good and return/block team recovers it.
|
Highly unlikely a block will occur or that R will WANT to block it. Everything about a free kick after a fair catch or awarded fair catch is just the same as a kickoff except (ususally) the spot of the kick and that the kick can score 3 points if it goes through the uprights. It is a live ball so R had better recover the kick.
Quote:
Originally posted by FBFAN
Thanks in advance.
|
Chances are that you will probably never see this happen. But if you do, just remember that the rules are just the same as they are for a kickoff. The only exception is that that kicking team gets 3 points for successfully placing it through the uprights and spot from where the kick takes place might be different.