Thread: Crab Dribble?
View Single Post
  #29 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 05, 2009, 02:26pm
Jay R Jay R is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 1,050
Quote:
Originally Posted by btaylor64 View Post
It's actually not vague at all if you own a NBA rulebook. It explains it quite well.

In short, the first count is when the ball has been gathered and upon the gather the first foot (feet) to contact the floor. meaning that if a player gathers the ball off the floor and lands with both feet that is the count of 1. if he gathers while on the floor, that is the count of 1.

The second count is after the first... obviously. If the player gathers the ball in the air and lands with two then he is allowed to pivot upon landing, as he has only completed a count of 1. If the gather is prior to leaving the floor then he has to land with both, due to the "two-count rhythm" guidelines and he is not allowed to pivot.

This is the same as the HS and college rule! I've said that for years!

The only play that is different is our "hop" travel rule.
Ben,

I still don't understand. Are you saying that if a player gathers the ball with his right foot on the floor and then his left foot comes down to the floor that his left foot is his pivot foot? I have tried numerous times to grasp this 2 count rhythm thing and I am absolutely clueless.
Reply With Quote