Quote:
Originally Posted by Ch1town
By your description of the sitch, some might say why trouble trouble?
|
Just then a Mom, up in the rafters of the balcony with a filterless Camel rasp yells, "NINE POINT TWO POINT FIVE".
9.2.5 SITUATION: Thrower A1 inadvertently steps onto the court inbounds. A1 immediately steps back into normal out-of-bounds throw-in position. The contact with the court was during a situation: (a) with; or (b) without defensive pressure on the throw-in team. RULING: A violation in both (a) and (b). COMMENT: Whether or not there was defensive pressure or whether or not stepping on the court was inadvertent, it is a violation and no judgment is required in making the call.
It's difficult to use spirit and purpose of the rules with boundary lines, either stepping on them, or over them, somebody will spot the violation. Seldom will anybody spot an official "slow counting" to ten on a patient free thrower.