Thread: Missed Home
View Single Post
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 24, 2008, 11:31pm
yawetag yawetag is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 755
Do you have a rules reference to this?

Quote:
Originally Posted by PeteBooth View Post
On a play where B1 beats the throw to first base but does NOT touch the base, the proper mechanic is for the umpire to signal safe.

At one time in FED ONLY an "accidental appeal" was allowed. That is NOT the case anymore.

Therefore, if B1 beats the throw and missed first base, F3 MUST tag B1 to get the out provided the action is un-relaxed ie: B1 immediately turns around to touch the base.


Pete Booth