My opinion:
Q1) Questionable because the start of the visit isn't defined, only the end (leaving the circle).
If one assumes the start is when the manager requests time, time was already called for the first visit and the ball hadn't been put in play yet, so there was no relevant "time" call to mark the start.
Also, 8.06(c) says "second visit to the mound" and he didn't make it to the mound.
(Place manager hat on) The manager had a player insult him. In that age group, I'd want to do something about it too - NOW. You can't let the "inmates" run the place. You don't know the personality of the player so you don't know the most effective way of dealing with him.
You found yourself in the middle of a dicipline problem. You viewed it as a rule problem and attempted to get the manager to understand the rule.
I think the other coach didn't say anything because he understood the dicipline problem and the need to deal with it.
Let it go at that. I think you should treat it as a meeting with the umpire.
Q2) If it is not considered a visit, there is nothing to protest. If it is considered a visit, it is probably protestable as the infraction didn't take place until he took the mound in the following inning.
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong
|