View Single Post
  #21 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 16, 2008, 09:39pm
tjones1 tjones1 is offline
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,026
Research done by Bob Jenkins.

2000-2001 Interps (continued)

SITUATION 18: A1 and B1 begin to fight during a dead-ball period. Two bench players from Team A, A6 and A7, leave the bench area and enter the court to be near the action. Bench player B6 also leaves the bench area onto the floor and begins fighting with bench player A6. RULING: A1, A6, A7, B1 and B6 are all disqualified and each is charged with a flagrant technical foul. The head coach from Team A is charged with two indirect technical fouls (one for A7 leaving the bench and one for A6 leaving the bench and becoming involved in the fight). The head coach from Team B is charged with one indirect technical foul (for B6 leaving the bench and becoming involved in the fight). Team B is awarded two free throws followed by the ball for a division line throw-in, because the number of participants does not correspond. (10-3-10; 10-4-1h; 10-4-4 Pen)

SUPPLEMENT #1 (11/9/00)

SITUATION 1: A1 is an airborne shooter preparing to release the ball on a shot attempt. Instead of releasing the ball on the try, A1 fumbles the ball (while still in the air) and drops it. A1 then returns to the floor and secures possession of the ball. RULING: Traveling violation. While airborne the bail must be released for a try or pass. (4-43-3a; 9-4)

SITUATION 2: During a throw-in by A1, in Team As frontcourt, A2 jumps in the air and catches the ball. A2 then lands with the left foot in As frontcourt and then puts the right foot down in the backcourt. RULING: Legal. The exception in Rule 9-9 allows the player to make a normal landing and it makes no difference whether the first foot down is in frontcourt or backcourt. (9-9 Exp 1)

SITUATION 3: A1 is in the act of shooting and is fouled by B1. The contact by B1 throws A1 off balance and in an effort to make a play A1 passes off to teammate A2 instead of proceeding through with an off-balance shot. The official rules that the pass-off by A1 is not a factor as it was not the original intent and only the result of the contact by B1. RULING: A1 is awarded two free throws for the foul committed by B1. COMMENT: Provided the official deems that A1 was in the act of shooting when fouled (the player had begun the motion which habitually precedes the release of the ball for a try), the subsequent pass-off is ignored. (4-40-3; 4-40-1; Summary of Penalties #5)

SITUATION 4: A1 is fouled by B2 and is awarded two free throws. The foul is B2s fifth foul. The trail official reports the fifth foul to Team Bs coach. Before a substitute is made, the lead official incorrectly permits A1 to attempt the first free throw. The trail official realizes the error and huddles with the lead official. RULING: The result of the first attempt shall stand. Team Bs head coach shall be notified of B2s disqualification. Once B2 has been replaced, A1 shall attempt the second free throw. COMMENT: This is an officials error and not a correctable error situation according to Rule 2-10. (10-6 Pen; 2-8-3; 10-5-1d)

SITUATION 5: A1 is fouled in the act of shooting and is awarded two free throws. A1 is injured on the play and Team As coach has been beckoned on the floor to attend to A1. Although by rule A1 should leave the game until the next legal opportunity to substitute, the officials make an error and permit A1 to complete the free throws before leaving. The opposing coach objects and insists that A1s substitute should have shot the free throws, and a correctable error has occurred. RULING: The officials made an error by permitting A1 to remain in the game. This is not a correctable error for a wrong player attempting a free throw, even though A1 is required to leave the game by rule. (3-3-5; 3-3-3)

SITUATION 6: A1 is fouled and Team A is in the bonus. Before A1 attempts the one-and-one, A1 is whistled for a technical foul for taunting. A1 goes to the free-throw line to attempt the one-and-one with no players lined up. A1 makes the first free throw, then the horn sounds and the scorer indicates that A1s technical foul was the fifth foul on A1. RULING: The result of A1s first free throw shall stand and A1s replacement shall attempt the remaining free throw (if the first was successful), before Team B shoots its technical foul free throws. COMMENT: This is not a correctable error for a wrong player attempting a free throw. A1 was not officially disqualified until the coach was notified. (3-3-3; 4-14-2; 2-8-3; 2-10-1c)

SITUATION 7: A1 is attempting the second throw of a one-and-one when simultaneously B3 fouls A3, and A2 fouls B2 while the free throw is in flight. Both teams are in the bonus and B has the possession arrow. RULING: A2 and B3 are charged with personal fouls. Team B puts the ball in play with a throw-in under the alternating-possession procedure. COMNENT: This is incorrectly interpreted in the 2000-02 NFHS Basketball Handbook (p.81). (6-3-3g)

SITUATION 8: A1 has started a try for a goal (is in the act of shooting), but the ball is not yet in flight when the official blows the whistle for B2 fouling A2. A1s try is successful. RULING: A1s goal shall count because the foul was committed by the defense after the try had begun. COMMENT: The foul by the defense need not be on the player in the act of shooting for continuous motion principles to apply. (6-7 Exp 3)