View Single Post
  #20 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 16, 2008, 09:37pm
tjones1 tjones1 is offline
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,026
Research done by Bob Jenkins.

2000-2001 Interps

Printing Errors and Corrections:
Rules Book: Page 38; 4-42-1; change 20-second time-out to 30 seconds.
Case Book: Page 6; 2.4.5B; delete the last sentence of the play situation.

SITUATION 1: A1 is straddling the division line after catching and possessing a pass from A2. A1 then fumbles the ball, so that the ball lands in A’s frontcourt. A1 then regains possession of the ball (still straddling the division line). RULING: A1, with Team A in control, caused the ball to go from backcourt to frontcourt and was the first player to touch the ball again in the backcourt. Therefore, a backcourt violation shall be called. (9-9 Note)

SITUATION 2: Same situation as above, except A1 begins a dribble immediately upon fumbling the ball and retreats to his/her backcourt to avoid a defender. RULING: During a dribble from backcourt to frontcourt, the ball is in the frontcourt when the ball and both feet of the dribbler touch the court entirely in the frontcourt. Therefore, the play is legal and play continues. COMMENT: The provision of, “both feet and the ball being in the frontcourt” to determine frontcourt status, is only relevant during a dribble from backcourt to frontcourt. (4-4-6)

SITUATION 3: Defensive player, B1 leaves the court to guard in-bounding A1. He/she intentionally steps out of bounds in order to be issued a warning, so that the coach may read the offensive play and communicate the proper defensive set. RULING: The official may issue a plane violation warning, or a technical foul for leaving the court for an unauthorized reason. If the official believes the action was a tactic to gain an advantage, a technical foul should be called. (9-2-11; 10-3-4)

SITUATION 4: Prior to the game the head coach of Team A does not come into the playing area until the team introductions are completed. This is the first opportunity for the game officials to communicate with the coach. It is now game time. How should the referee handle this situation? RULING: The referee shall delay the start of the game and quickly have the head coach verify that his/her player’s uniforms and equipment are legal and will be worn properly, and that all participants are expected to exhibit good sportsmanship throughout the contest. The situation should be reported to the state activities association. COMMENT: It is unfortunate that a coach does not fulfill his/her pre-game duties, but this should not deter the referee from performing his/her duties in a professional manner. (2-4-5)

SITUATION 5: A1 steals the ball from B2 and is on a breakaway. B3 is attempting to catch A1 but is trailing the play. As A1 attempts a lay up, B3 tries to block the shot and fails. During B3’s attempt to block the shot, his/her hand slaps the backboard. RULING: Even though the contact with the backboard was very obvious, it was not an intentional act and would not be ruled illegal. COMMENT: No doubt the coach and spectators of Team A will protest that a technical foul should have been called on B3. The covering official must base his/her decision on the intent of the play. (10-3-6)

SITUATION 6: Three starters of Team A are wearing a 3-inch square
manufacturer’s logo on their game socks. The two others are wearing plain white crew socks. RULING: The socks are legal. Socks are not a required part of the uniform, and are not subject to the manufacturer’s-logo restrictions. (3-6)

SITUATION 7: A6 and A7 report to the table as substitutes to enter the game. B5 commits his/her fifth personal foul. A4 goes to the free-throw line to shoot two free throws. B6 replaces B5 before A4 shoots the first free throw. A6 and A7 are also beckoned to come into the game. RULING: The official was correct in beckoning A6 and A7 to come with B6. When a player is required by rule to be replaced prior to administering the free throw(s), then all other substitutes who have legally reported may also enter the game. (3-3-1c)

SITUATION 8: A “Ram” logo is painted in the center-restraining circle. The home school has a shadow borderline that is 1/4-inch wide that is within the 2-inch width as the dividing line. RULING: A solid or shadow bordered 2-inch wide line is permissible. A shadow line is a line that designates the required 2-inch width by use of border or outline lines at least 1/4-inch wide, which shall lie within the 2-inch width. (1-3-2 Note)

SITUATION 9: Team A is playing with five players, but has no substitutes available when one of the players has an asthma attack. The coach is beckoned onto the floor. Must the player leave the game? May Team A continue with four players? May the player return after recovering from the asthma attack? RULING: A team may continue with fewer than five when there are no substitutes available. The injured/ill player leaving the game may return if/when he or she is able. (3-1-1)

SITUATION 10: A1 jumps from inbounds and gains control of the ball in the air. While in the air, the player tosses/drops the ball inbounds and momentum then carries them out of bounds. A1 then returns to the court and is the first to touch the ball inbounds. RULING: The ball never touched out of bounds and the player returned in-bounds and re-established him/herself before touching the ball. Therefore, the play is legal and play continues. (7-1-1; 7-1-2)

SITUATION 11: A1 has the ball in A’s backcourt, against a press; as the action goes on, A2 breaks to his/her basket and A1 throws a full-court pass to A2. As the ball reaches A2 it goes off the backboard and enters the basket for a goal. RULING: The official must determine if the throw was an attempt at a basket or a pass. If it is deemed a pass, then by definition it is not a try and therefore can only be awarded two points. (4-40-2, 3; 5-2-1)

SITUATION 12: On the second and final free throw, A1’s attempt becomes lodged on the flange. RULING: Since the ball was live, it shall be put into play by the alternating-possession procedure. (6-3-3d)

SITUATION 13: A1 is at the free-throw line to shoot a free throw. The lead official bounces the ball to A1, and B1, who is in one of the free-throw lane spaces, a) reaches out and intercepts the bounce pass without breaking the vertical plane of the free-throw lane with either foot and then requests a time-out; or b) breaks the vertical plane of the free-throw lane and intercepts the bounce pass and then requests a time-out. RULING: This is NOT a warning for delay situation, as outlined by Rule 4-46. In both situations, a technical foul shall be called for B1 delaying the game by preventing the ball from being put in play. (10-3-7a)

SITUATION 14: After a made basket by Team B, A1 has the run of the end line for a throw-in. A1’s throw-in is intentionally kicked by B1. Is Team A awarded a designated spot throw-in or may it again run the end line for the throw-in? RULING: There is no provision to allow Team A to run the end line. After any violation, the ball shall be put in play from the designated out-of-bounds spot nearest the violation. No exception to this rule is noted. (7-5-2)

SITUATION 15: Immediately following a goal in the first quarter by A1, A3 slaps the ball away so that Team B is unable to make a quick throw-in. In the second quarter, A2 reaches through the inbounds side of the throw-in boundary plane. RULING: The official shall sound his/her whistle and go to the table to have the scorer record a team warning for the specific delay after it has occurred. The specific warning is then reported to the head coach of Team A. Any subsequent delay for interfering with the ball following a basket or throw-in plane violation by Team A shall result in a technical foul charged to Team A. COMMENT: The three warning situations listed in Rule 4-46 are treated separately. (4-46; 9-2-11; 10-1-5c,d)

SITUATION 16: The home team had its floor re-painted in the off-season with its school mascot painted in the middle of the floor. The mascot is painted over the division line, so that the line is obstructed and not clearly visible. RULING: There is no penalty accessed to the home team. Every effort shall be made by home management to place a line (temporary or permanent) on the floor. If a temporary line is placed on the floor, precautions should be taken with the substance used to minimize the risk of injury to players and officials. Every effort should be made to play the game. The official should notify the state association of the situation. COMMENT: If you are aware of a facility in which this could occur, contact your state high school association to determine how the situation should be handled in your state. (1-3-2)

SITUATION 17: Dribbler A1 is being closely guarded by B2 in A’s frontcourt. A3 sets a screen on B2 to allow dribbler A1 a pathway to the basket. However, Team B switches defenders after the screen and B4 is now closely guarding dribbler A1. When B4 took over guarding dribbler A1, he/she properly established a legal guarding position and maintained the 6-foot guarding distance. RULING: The closely guarded count on A1 shall be maintained even though there were two different defenders involved. (4-23; 9-10-1)