View Single Post
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Sep 29, 2002, 01:53pm
ChuckElias ChuckElias is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,105
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
If you grant the TO in this situation, you're basically penalizing the team twice. The player requested the TO for one reason only: to keep possession of the ball. But since he requested it too late, he's lost the ball. So now if you grant the TO, they've lost the ball and been charged with a TO that they don't really want. So as has been said already, in this situation the official will usually ask, "You still want the TO?" and the answer is always "no".

Chuck
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote