View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 11, 1999, 01:58pm
Jerry Baldwin Jerry Baldwin is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 92
Post

Mark,
I think you are correct. The answer sheet is wrong. My rule reference for question 10 it 4-19-1, which does not seem to apply here. Our association at the recent rules meeting and rules test marked it "incorrect" based on rule 10-3-8 which states It is a technical foul to "Commit an unsportsmanlike foul". Rule 4-19-13 deals with a non contact "unsportsmanlike foul". The question is can you have an unsportsmanlike perosnal foul while the ball is alive? Rule 4-19-1 would indicate that a personal foul (unsportsmanlike or not) could be ruled a personal foul, not a technical, if during a live ball. I have never seen any official deal with an unsportsmanlike foul any other way than a technical whether theball was alive or not. Another Fed. trick question. I think the answer sheet is wrong with a true answer. I will ask our state rules interperter for a ruling. Later. Jerry
Reply With Quote