Yes, if the offensive linemen are engaged in blocking their opponents in or behind the expanded neutral zone and the pass hits them in the back, you have a good no-call.
I'm not so sure about calling intentional grounding. If the tight end is cutting across the middle on a short 5 and in route I would have another good no-call. But I can see your point. If there is no eligible receiver in the area you have a good case for calling this. The referee needs to judge the passer's intent, abilities, and game situation.
If the offensive lineman is not blocking anybody and he drifts beyond the original neutral zone, you would definitely have either an ineligible receiver or offensive pass interference foul if the pass crosses the neutral zone.
As the HL, LJ, U, and R know (depending on mechinics in use), we need to know if the pass was touched in or behind the neutral zone and whether it was completed beyond the line or completed in or behind the neutral zone. This determines the whether we have a foul or not.
__________________
Mike Simonds
|