Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells
No T to the coach, just the sub. Read the Technical Foul Penalty Summary page at the back of the rule book.
|
I agree.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rufus
I don't think this is correct. The table states that Technicals for bench personal (in this case entering the court without permission) is charged to the substitute/bench personnel and is an indirect on the coach.
|
Nope. Perhaps thinking of it in this manner will help you. The head coach is only responsible for the people IN HIS BENCH AREA. Once the team members go to the table and report to the scorer they become substitutes and are not under the direct supervision of the head coach. The scorer is in charge of them now. This is similar to the game officials being in charge of the ten players on the court. Therefore, since the substitutes are properly NOT in the team bench area (meaning that they are permitted to be elsewhere at that time), they are not bench personnel. Thus no indirect technical foul to the head coach.
Quote:
Originally Posted by tjchamp
That's my point. The subs are not "players" until beckoned. As such they are still bench personnel. Techs to bench personnel get indirects to coach. The foul summary seems to contradict the penalty for this situation. 10.4.2 indicates T for entry unless permission of an official. The penalty for 10.4.1-4 is direct T to offender, and indirect to the coach.
|
See my comments directly above.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells
That said, if a sub, while waiting to be beckoned, pops off to the ref as he runs by during a live ball; that'll be an indirect to the coach as well.
|
I disagree due to the reasoning put forth in my above comments.