View Single Post
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 01, 2008, 11:59am
vbzebra vbzebra is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Posts: 214
Quote:
Originally Posted by daveg144 View Post
Had this discussion last week at a scrimmage. One of the officials brought up the play.

A1 is inbounding the ball underneath B's basket for a spot throw-in. B1, guarding A1, is 6-10 with extremely long arms making it difficult for A1 to make the inbounds pass. A2 runs down to the baseline to receive the pass. A1 throws the ball parallel to the the baseline, but the ball does not break the in-bounds plane (it stays out of bounds). A2, while standing with both feet legally in-bounds, reaches over the line and receives the pass.

Is this a violation? Please see rule 9.2.2 (my rule books are out in the car, so I may be giving you the wrong reference). It seems like the rule book is calling this a violation. I have never seen this called or discussed. To me, it sounds like a legal play. What do you say?
I say its was a NFHS TEST QUESTION that I got WRONG I thought it was legal, but its actually a violation. Of course now that I know, I shouldn't get it wrong in a game
Reply With Quote