View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 20, 2002, 07:21am
PeteBooth PeteBooth is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Newburgh NY
Posts: 1,822
Originally posted by Whowefoolin

and Pete, the batter does not have the RIGHT to stand in the box. He has a RIGHT to hit the ball. After that, he must make an attempt to get out of the way of any ensueing play.

So the batter swings and ball gets away from the catcher and goes to back stop. Batter has the RIGHT to stand in the batters box and watch the play and get in the way as long as he is in the box??? Come on! Help us out in this forum. Don't quote. We can all do that.


You refuse to accept the rulings that have been giving to you. Help has been given on this Forum, whether you choose to accept them is up to you.

On a play at third, YESTERDAY, TODAY AND TOMMOROW B1 DOES NOT have to get out of the way. It's covered under all 3 Major Rule Books. You simply refuse to accept that.

If you are talking about a play at the plate that's different, but let's stick to the original thread, which specifically discussed a play at third.

B1 has a RIGHT to be in the batter's box. In fact if he does move, he / she is putting themselves in jeopardy for interference.

If the ball gets away from F2 whose fault is that. The defense erred and now you want B1 to make F2's job easier.

I quoted the FED case Play which IMO sums it up best.

Pete Booth

__________________
Peter M. Booth
Reply With Quote