Quote:
Originally Posted by CoachP
My head hurts.
Fast break A1 dribbling with ball in the FC passes to A2 who is also already in the FC.
B1 trys to steal the ball, but only manages to bat the ball towards her own basket.
A3 is still coming up the floor, but is still in the BC. She catches the ball that was still in flight from the bat.
Interp #10 says this is a BC violation??
- There must be team control.
- The ball must have front court status.
- The ball must have been last touched by the team in control before going to backcourt.
- The ball must be first touched by the team in control after having gone to backcourt.
So it's (the interp) trying to say that the exact moment A3 catches the ball in the BC, she is doing the last 2 bullet thingys at once? ( Last to touch the ball in the FC...since the ball never has yet been in the BC, AND she is now the first to touch in the BC)
|
Almost. Your statement modified....
So it's (the interp) trying to say that the exact moment A3 catches the ball in the BC, she is doing the last 2 bullet thingys at once? (Last to touch the ball before it returned to the BC...since the ball never has yet been in the BC, AND she is now the first to touch after it returned to the BC)
It does't matter WHERE the player touches the ball, just the timing relative to when it gains BC status. The ball doesn't even need to stay in the backcourt for the rule to apply (it could, without it being touched by a player, bounce off an official or have a funny spin and return to the FC). The rule requires touches in a specific order with reference to when the ball gains BC status. The interpretation doesn't fit that order.