View Single Post
  #50 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 20, 2008, 03:32pm
mick mick is offline
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
Posts: 9,953
Quote:
Originally Posted by M&M Guy View Post
Well, the reason I asked was that 4.44.5B says that is a traveling violation. So, since we can call a travel in this instance where the ball is placed on the ground, I would assume that means the rules committee is saying placing is not the same as dribbling, especially since we know if the player is dribbling, they can then stand up (ala Curly Neal). Also, this seems to indicate that even though they are not actually "holding" the ball, and they are not dribbling, they are still considered having player control?

My head hurts.
Your rule [4.44.5B] says "while holding the ball".
Yet you said in your sitch that he put the ball down and then stood.

Your head should hurt.
Reply With Quote