Thread: Game Clock Rule
View Single Post
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 19, 2008, 04:07pm
Blue37 Blue37 is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 381
Quote:
Originally Posted by SCFLDad View Post
Yes, that's my question. The 2008 NCAA rules (3-2-5a) states that "When the clock has been stopped for any of the following incidents, it will start on the signal by the referee [S2]", which indicates that it will only start after the "start clock" or wind signal. I assume that it will not start if the ref only gives the "ready-for-play" [S1] signal.

The 2008 UIL/HS rules for high school make an exception to this rule by reverting to the 2005 NCAA rules which (3-2-5b) states: "If the clock was stopped for incidents 1 through 11, it shall be started on the ready-for-play signal". I assume that this means it will start for a "ready-to-play" [S1] signal, regardless if the ref gives the "start clock" or wind signal [S2].
I see this as a difference in semantics. The clock either starts on the snap or when declared ready by the referee, regardless of the signal(s) he uses. I like the wording in the NCAA rule better, but I understand the UIL/HS rule means the same, even if it does not say it the same way. If a HS referee omits S1 and only gives S2, the clock operator better flip the switch!!!

Our clock operators are officials. Some of them are newbies, just starting out, and some are oldies, either on the down side of their career or not good on-field officials. When I am fortunate to have an oldie, I know the clock will correctly run or not, regardless of my signal(s). If I incorrectly wind it (S1 and S2) when it should start on the snap, an oldie will ignore me. If I forget to wind it (S1 only) when it should start on the ready, he will cover me there also. I have to be more careful with the newbies.

Either way, the entire crew should be aware of the status and be sure it is running when it should be and is not running when it should not be.
Reply With Quote