View Single Post
  #33 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 14, 2008, 08:14am
Raymond Raymond is offline
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,950
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
4-12-1 . . . A player is in control of the ball when he/she is holding or dribbling a live ball inbounds.

Sorry, but if you don't consider the toss to be a dribble, then the action doesn't meet the definiton of player control.

If you do consider the toss to be a dribble, then there is player control, but a player cannot travel during a dribble!

Seems that your position is untenable.
I don't consider the toss to be a dribble as it never hit the court, referee, or opposing team's backboard. Remember I'm the one disagreed with your definition earlier that this was an illegal dribble. It's a travel.

If a player tosses the ball in the air and catches it then it is not a shot, pass, nor dribble. If a player stands in one spot and tosses the ball up in the air a few times are you can saying he used up his dribble?
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote