Quote:
Originally Posted by dmore
7.08 Any runner is out when -
(5) . . . When a runner is off a base after a pitch or as a result of a batter completing a turn at bat, and while the pitcher has the ball within the eight (8) foot radius circle, the runner must immediately attempt to advance to the next base or return to the base the runner is entitled.
SO none of the stuff that deals with player stopping once and making a decision is there, LBR is not on until a walked batter makes it to first.
|
Emphasis added.
Wrong, I think. What is also not present in the LL softball rule is the provision (present in ASA and Fed) that the LBR does not go into effect until the batter reaches first. I don't do much LL softball, but I educated myself on this rule on this forum earlier this year, and it was the subject of at least two threads.
My understanding and conclusion is that the LBR in LL is the same as ASA, except that it goes into effect as soon as the pitcher gets the ball in the circle, even if before the walked batter reaches first. It is still a one-stop rule, so the batter-runner can round first (without stopping), but that runner on third is supposed to retreat or advance once the pitcher has the ball in the circle. That makes the BR-draw-a-throw-so-Rx-at-third-can-score play more difficult to execute.