View Single Post
  #21 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 04, 2008, 05:12pm
Camron Rust Camron Rust is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by SamIAm View Post
A.R. 200 paraphrased -
A1, after
1) receiving a pass
2) ending his/her dribble
jumps to attempt a try and voluntarily throws the ball to the playing court and is the first to touch the ball.
Ruling
1) traveling violation as A1 lifted their pivot foot before beginning a dribble.
2) double dribble as A1's throwing of the ball constituted the start of a dribble.

I guess my rule of thumb holds true as the pivot foot movement occured with A1 in possession of the ball.
Doesn't fit the question then since A1 was holding the ball at the time of the travel (lifting the pivot foot before releasing the dribble).
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote