View Single Post
  #20 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 04, 2008, 04:01pm
SamIAm SamIAm is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Irving, Texas
Posts: 675
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
If you toss the ball up into the air and run and catch it without it hitting the floor, you have also traveled. (is that what AR200 says?)
A.R. 200 paraphrased -
A1, after
1) receiving a pass
2) ending his/her dribble
jumps to attempt a try and voluntarily throws the ball to the playing court and is the first to touch the ball.
Ruling
1) traveling violation as A1 lifted their pivot foot before beginning a dribble.
2) double dribble as A1's throwing of the ball constituted the start of a dribble.

I guess my rule of thumb holds true as the pivot foot movement occured with A1 in possession of the ball.
__________________
- SamIAm (Senior Registered User) - (Concerning all judgement calls - they depend on age, ability, and severity)
Reply With Quote