High school rules to come to the same conclusion for the OP, BLOCK!
Rule 4-23-1 Defines Guarding: Guarding is the acti of legally placing the body in the path of an offensive opponent.
Rule 4-23-2 Defines Initial LGP: To obtain an initial legal guarding position:
a. The guard must have both feet touching the playing court
b. The front of the guard's torso must be facing the opponent
Rule 4-35-1 Defines Player Location: The location of a player or nonplayer is determined by where the player is touching the floor as far as being:
a. Inbounds or out of bounds
Rule 4-9-1 and 2 Defines Inbounds/OOB: 1) Boundary lines of the court consist of end lines and sidelines. 2) The inside edges of these lines define the inbounds and out-of-bounds areas
Rule 4-7-1 Defines Blocking: Blocking is illegal personal contact which impedes the progress of an opponent with or without the ball
Rule 4-7-2a and b Defines Charging that we are talking about:
Charging is illegal personal contact caused by pushing or moving into an opponents torso.
a. A player who is moving witht he ball is required to stop or change direction to avoid contact if a defensive player has obtained a legal guarding position in his/her path.
b. If a guard has obtained a legal guarding position, the player with the ball must get his/her head and shoulders past the torso of the defensive player....
So, if you consider the defender in the OP to be "guarding," then that player has never established LGP b/c the player did not have both feet inbounds. If the player never established LGP, then the player is illegally in the path of the offense. If the defense is illegally in the path, then the defense is responsible for the contact.
You are arguing that the defender had LGP when by rule he didn't. Never established w/ both feet inbounds. If he did establish it at one point w/ both feet inbounds, then he had to have moved in order for a foot to end up OOB, in which case case play 4.23.3 B is the correct case which says that it is a BLOCK.
|