Quote:
Originally Posted by rwest
So LGP only applies if the player is moving? Not true. The rule book does not say that.
|
LGP only grants a player the right to move/jump at the time of contact and not be guilty of a foul.
Quote:
Originally Posted by rwest
A player who extends an arm, shoulder, hip or leg into the path of an opponent is not considered to have a legal position if contact occurs.
|
Legal position and Legal Guarding Position are not synonymous. LGP is only relevant in the context of contact with the defender's body,(block/charge) not their arms. What you're describing is illegal use of hands, not blocking.
Quote:
Originally Posted by rwest
Is a stationary player in LGP if they are standing still and have their arm extended in front of the player moving with the ball? No.
|
Yes, the player has LGP, but has committed an illegal use of hands foul....which is not dependant on LGP.
Quote:
Originally Posted by rwest
Every player has a right to a spot on the "playing floor", but they don't have the right to make it as wide as they want. They are only entitled to their shoulder width.
|
Again, you're mixing blocking and illegal use of hands. Is it a foul, yes, but not a block and not because of the lack of LGP.
Quote:
Originally Posted by rwest
How can you say that LGP doesn't apply to a stationary player?
|
Read the definition of what a player who has LGP can do (4-23-3)
After the initial legal guarding position is obtained:
a. ...may have one or both feet on the playing court or be airborne...inbounds
b. ....not required to continue facing...
c. ...may move laterally or obliquely...
d. ...may raise hands or jump....
e. ...may turn or duck...
Note that ALL of these are movement actions. Having LGP merely allows these actions...that is it.
If the player is stationary (not moving) then they are not doing
a (foot in the air moving to a new spot),
b (turning away),
c (shifting),
d (jumping), or
e (turn/duck). So, they are not doing anything that required LGP to be legal.
Quote:
Originally Posted by rwest
To maintain LGP the "guard may have one or both feet on the playing court or be airborne, PROVIDED HE/SHE HAS INBOUND STATUS. So a player that is standing still but with one foot out of bounds does not have LGP.
|
Correct...but a stationary player is not judged using LGP. LGP is only needed to make actions I listed above legal in the event of contact.