View Single Post
  #90 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 30, 2008, 03:52pm
Texref Texref is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 226
Quote:
Originally Posted by M&M Guy View Post
If you are sure the player left the court on purpose and with specific intent, then yes, it's a violation. The examples given on this violation are pretty clear - running around a screen OOB, or stepping out of the lane OOB to avoid a 3-second call, all seem to show clear intent to be OOB. I also know the Fed. has made it clear that momentum carrying a player OOB is acceptable. So if the defender was simply trying to get in front of the offensive player and their momentum caused them to go OOB, then there is no violation. So, unless you can show me the defender stepped OOB on purpose and with specific intent, then I've got to assume their momentum carried them to that spot, which eliminates that particular violation from this discussion.

Which brings us to the case play mentioned, 4.23.3B - this play has to do with LGP specifically. Notice the play says the defender obtains LGP, but is called for the blocking foul because they did not maintain LGP at the time of the contact, not because the defender violated by being OOB. That tells me the only issue involved in this discussion is LGP.

So, can an offensive player be called for a charge against a defensive player that does not have LGP? Sure. Can a stationary defensive player, without LGP, be called for a block, when the offensive player initiates contact? I would like to see the rules backing for that one.
Your rule is the rule you are using saying the player is entitled to a spot on the playing floor. By having a foot OOB, the player is not on the Playing floor. That is made clear by the rule establishing Player Location. If a player is not legally in a spot to take an offensive foul, then the player who is OOB is responsible for the contact.

FWIW, I DON'T THINK THIS IS A VIOLATION ON THE DEFENSE. IT IS A BLOCK!!!!

I am going to respectfully disagree with those of you who say that the play in the OP is a player control foul. And having time to think about it a little, I don't think you have an option to call a player control in this situation. If the offense bowls over the defense w/ intent, then I have an intentional foul. For those that ask how I make that distinction, if you have ever called an intentional, or flagrant, you know it when you see it. You and I may have a different standard as to when we call it, but you know it when you see it.
Reply With Quote