Thread: Double dribble?
View Single Post
  #26 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 29, 2008, 12:02pm
Raymond Raymond is offline
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,951
Quote:
Originally Posted by SamIAm View Post
It is only a travel if A1 has not picked-up the dribble. In the OP, the dribble had been picked-up. I do not see where you changed that scenario.

The NCAA case play is A.R. 200. This ruling is identical in FED. Illegal Dribble.

I have used the following as a rule of thumb -
There is only one way to travel without the ball: A1 having secured the ball while laying or setting on the floor (not standing), then releases the ball, stands up, then picks up the ball, all this with no other players touching the ball.

But A.R. 200 Includes another possibility in sitch 1.
Is FED and NCAA in agreement?
If a player passes the ball and retrieves the pass, that is considered a dribble.
  • If the player has not dribbled yet and does not lift his/her pivot prior to releasing the ball then it's a legal play.
  • If the player lifts his/her pivot foot (ie: jump) prior to releasing the ball it is a travel for lifting one's pivot prior to dribbling.
  • If the player has already completed a dribble prior to this action then it's an illegal dribble.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR

Last edited by Raymond; Thu Oct 30, 2008 at 09:25am.
Reply With Quote