Quote:
	
	
		| 
					Originally Posted by Robert Goodman  Interesting that the case switches from referring to mere "contact" to "use hands in the manner described". | 
	
 The case play is illustrating that the contact itself was legal.  It was not holding, clipping, nor any other way of illegally contacting a player.  The reason it was a foul was because the A1 was not a potential blocker.  It doesn't matter if the hit on A1 is from the front with open hands, above the waist, it is still a foul.
	Quote:
	
	
		| 
					Originally Posted by Robert Goodman  But were the rules actually changed in Fed to prohibit all forms of contact by B against an eligible A receiver on B's side of the neutral zone when a forward pass is still possible and the A player is clearly not a blocker? | 
	
 The correct phrase is "potential blocker".  It may not be clear if A1 is intending on blocking B23 or running a pass route.  As long as A1 potentially may end up blocking B23, then B23 can hit him.  If A1 is moving away or has passed B23, A1 is not a potential blocker and cannot be contacted by B23.
Yes, all contact by B is illegal in that situation.  I do not call every touch by B a foul though.  More or less unless A is affected then I let it go.