Here's one that actually happened:
Near the end of a game, the visitng team sinks a two point shot from just over the three point line, near the trail official. Trail properly does not signal three point attempt or successful three point shot. His lead, however, does signal successful three point attempt and does so without knowledge of the Trail. The scorer assigns three points for the bucket which results in the score being tied.
Home team inbounds the ball, and the horn sounds to end the game. Score is tied, however the coach for the home team addresses the Referee (who was trail on the previous play) and protests the score. The Referee verfies the value of final basket with the scorer and immediatley corrects the error.
Now for the question: Should overtime be played with the score corrected to indicate the 1 point differencial or is the game over?
If your interested, I was the Referee in this game and called the game over - no overtime was played. I'm lucky the call was to the home team's advantage or it would have been total chaos.
I am interested to know if you feel the call was correct?
__________________
Regards,
Trevor Schriver
|