Thread: Fair/foul call
View Single Post
  #42 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 15, 2008, 02:09pm
jmkupka jmkupka is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 648
"PLAY 1-42
B1 hits a pop fly between 1B and 2B, and the ball falls untouched to the ground about six feet beyond the base line. The ball has backspin and rolls across the foul line about ten feet from home plate, where it is first touched by F3. B1 advances to 2B on the play.
RULING: This is a fair ball because it first touches the ground beyond the bases in fair territory. B1 remains at 2B and is credited with a couble. (1-FAIR BALL-F)"


My OP had the ball land beyond the triangle of HP, 1B & 3B, but the above play does verify that there is a point beyond which the ball can land, spin back and roll foul (short of 1b) and be considered fair. Correct?
Reply With Quote