Thread: Runner down?
View Single Post
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Oct 11, 2008, 09:06pm
mikesears mikesears is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Bloomington, IL
Posts: 1,319
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigGref View Post
quick question, if a runner trips a little, starts to fall and the ball (which is firmly in his right hand) touches the ground; no other part of the runners body touched the ground, I said live ball, is this right? Rules reference please
Thanks!
You won't find "the ground can't cause a fumble" in the rulebook but you hear it said all the time. This is one situation where "the ground CAN cause fumble".

Rule reference has been posted for you in previous post.
Reply With Quote