View Single Post
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 10, 2008, 11:05am
just another ref just another ref is offline
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
Do you really believe that?

So when it should be 1 and 1, but the official says, "2 shots" and then the shooter misses the first, what are you going to do if A2, B2, A4, and B5 all attempt to rebound and A4 gets the ball and scores?

Are you going to follow the casebook play and allow play to continue as normal or are you going to rule that the goal doesn't count because the ball was dead due to the official wrongly saying, "2 shots?"
I will do my best to follow the casebook play:
If all players on both teams go for the rebound, giving each team "equal opportunity to gain possession of the rebound," then play should continue.
However, if even one player on one side or the other even hesitates before going for the rebound, then "the official's error clearly put one team at a disadvantage," and the play should be whistled dead as quickly as possible.
But even if somebody scores before the whistle, it doesn't count because the ball was already dead because:

"The ball becomes dead when it is apparent the free throw will not be successful on a free throw which is to be followed by another free throw."
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote