View Single Post
  #32 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 09, 2008, 03:06pm
Al Al is offline
Official Forum Member
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 207
Send a message via Yahoo to Al
Originally Posted by Dakota View Post
I didn't see anything in the rule you cited about a certain period of time.
Hey tom,

Sec.33 in the USSSA rule book states...

"A tag out is the putting out of a runner who is not touching a base, by touching the runner with a live ball, or the glove or hand when the live ball is SECURELY HELD therein by a fielder. The ball is NOT considered as having been held securely if it is juggled or dropped AFTER the touching unless the runner deliberately knocks the ball from the hand of the fielder".

To me, speaking U-trip, the rule says to wait to see if the fielder met the requirement of the tag-out rule. The rule calls for a secure tag not just a tag. So if a ball comes out of a glove BEFORE it is shown to be held securely, by rule, we have a safe call.
Reply With Quote