View Single Post
  #48 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 08, 2008, 09:34am
bob jenkins bob jenkins is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
  • Rule 6-2 When play is resumed with a throw-in or free throw and 3/10 (.3) of a second or less remains on the clock, no field goal may be scored by a try for goal. In this situation a tap could score. [/FONT]
  • NOTE: This rule does not apply if the clock does not display tenths of a second.

So what is the purpose of the note in the rule? Can someone please give an example of when we would have knowledge that less than 3/10 of a second remained but this rule does not apply if the clock does not display tenths of a second.
It all hinges on the FED's definition of "clock" -- does it mean "what's on the wall" or "what's on the table"? (or if "either" show 1/10, then use the rule)
Reply With Quote