View Single Post
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 07, 2008, 11:56am
Official Forum Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Originally Posted by Dakota View Post
Good call. Ball in control on the tag, came out after the tag due to contact with the ground.

When I first saw the play, I thought he was tagged with an empty mitt...
I happened to catch this play as I was walking out of the restaurant after spending a regular MNF evening with fellow umpires.

Two things were obvious:

Varitek demonstrated he was very conscious of maintaining possession of the ball by placing it in his glove prior to making the tag;

Some coaches are clueless.
Reply With Quote