
Mon Oct 06, 2008, 07:53pm
|
Official Forum Member
|
|
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 1,130
|
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob M.
REPLY: Ed, I don't believe that's quite what the rule says. It says that a team may designate a ball to use at the start of a series, but it never says that the officials are not allowed to substitute a ball. What do you do when there's a long incomplete pass downfield? Do you wait for the BJ or wing to retrieve it and relay it back to the umpire at the previous spot?
If at all possible, we will get a new ball when the measurement shows that they were short of the LTG. Reason is in case the chain link marking position of the ball is pulled from the R's hand as he walks to the inbounds line, the old ball at the spot can be used once more as a reference point.
|
NFHS Case Book 1.3.2 Situation A basically states you must use the same ball for an entire series and considers the try an extension of the series.
|