Quote:
Originally posted by Mike Simonds
.... Can the kicker move the ball and place it on the tee after the ready for play? Or is this a foul under rule 6-1-2? My answer is this is a dead ball foul for illegal procedure.
The kicker told the umpire that sometimes he will not place the ball on the tee and make an onside kick while the ball is lying on the ground. Is this a foul under rule 2-23-7? My answer is that he made a legal kick.
|
Yes, the kicker can take the ball from the ground and place it on the tee or take from the tee and place it on the ground. The "designated spot" per interpretation play in 2001 (#15) says the spot of the free kick was not changed.
I'd give the kicker about one step in either direction as still being the designated spot. He just has to do all of this and kick the ball within 25 seconds.
A free kick definitions say how a place kick can be made and it can be made while the ball is fixed and lying on the ground.