Thread: LSU/Auburn
View Single Post
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Sep 21, 2008, 02:02pm
Theisey Theisey is offline
Official Forum Member
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 1,464
he referee signals are the same, it's just that they don't necessarily have the same meaning.
For example S18 for NFHS is encroachment for either side of the ball, whereas for NCAA it means the defense is offside. There are other very minor differences in the foul with S18 and S19. Also, S17 is only used by the NCAA as they have the uncatchable pass rule.

For kick plays, NF uses the words first touching but the NCAA uses illegal touching for the same act. Same signal S16 used.

(NCAA) The kicking team can catch a free kick in flight as long as it has gone ten yards and there is no receiving team member near the spot of the catch.
Ball dead at that point. 1/10 for the kicking team.
(NF) Cannot do the above. KCI no matter where a team R player is located
Reply With Quote