
Fri Sep 19, 2008, 08:56am
|
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
|
|
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
|
|
Canadian Ruling
Quote:
Originally Posted by waltjp
In an earlier post that mentions Intentional DPI I replied by saying that short of a weapon being use it's unlikely to be called. I know in a recent discussion we hashed this out and seemed to agree that it's unlikely to ever be called. I don't remember if anyone brought up a situation where there was agreement on when to call it.
Consider this -
A's ball, third and 3 from their own 27 yard line. A80 is lined up in the slot, B40 is close to the LOS. At the snap A80 makes a move and attempts to run a quick slant pattern. B40 slips as he tries to bump A80. B40, knowing he is beaten on the play reaches out and grabs A80's face mask and pulls him to the ground. The QB is already in the act of throwing the pass to A80.
In this situation I think the Intentional DPI would be the correct call. It might even be considered flagrant and warrant the DQ of B40.
This is a play that is certainly within the realm of possibility.
Thoughts?
|
CANADIAN RULING:
DPI or illegal contact and UR-facemask! 2 fouls... apply both.
__________________
Pope Francis
|