Quote:
Originally Posted by OverAndBack
Had a play recently that's been bugging me.
A10 runs a square-out and has his back to the goal line as the quarterback throws him the ball. B9 hits A10 from the back (right side of the back), coming through him and then making a near-interception on the ball. Pass incomplete.
DPI?
One of the things our association gave us on certain philosophies is that there has to be an "obvious intent to impede" for it to be DPI and that contact isn't necessarily DPI.
Our white hat said the umpire got it right, I'm just curious as to what your philosophy is (I know you didn't see the play, I tried to describe it as best I could).
|
Did the umpire call the DPI or did he say that it wasn't a foul? Out of curiosity, why was this the U's call and no one else's? I'm not an umpire, and I don't pretend know what I am talking about here, but is this a call umpires tend to make? Again, not trying to criticize anyone...just wondering.