Only the guys actually on the end of the line (or backs) are eligible receivers.
If a tight end, for instance, would be "on the end of the line" and an eligible receiver, but a wideout on his side of the snapper is farther up than he should be and is on the line of scrimmage, he "covers up" the tight end (renders him ineligible). If the tight end goes downfield, it's ineligible downfield. If he touches or catches a pass, it's illegal touching (right? new? used to be OPI?).
As a wing (or a back judge), I see if there's a tight end and if he's "covered" or not so I make a mental note in case that guy goes downfield.
(He can still go downfield if a pass occurs but it doesn't cross the neutral zone in flight, correct?)
__________________
"And I'm not just some fan, I've refereed football and basketball in addition to all the baseball I've umpired. I've never made a call that horrible in my life in any sport."---Greatest. Official. Ever.
|