View Single Post
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 11, 2008, 04:50pm
PSU213 PSU213 is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 522
Quote:
Originally Posted by parepat
Are we sure that the official did not rule that the receiver was covered up? Thus, when he caught the ball he committed OPI. I know the rule changed a few years ago, but he did not throw the flag at the time of the contact. Just a thought.
From the press box view it seemed to me that he was clearly off the line (not that the official couldn't have seen it differently). That having been said this would be illegal touching, not OPI (which I think you were referring to in the post). Do we know for a fact that OPI was the call (and not illegal touching or something else)? But, yes, it does seem like the flag does not come down until the pass is caught, not on the contact between the players.
__________________
If the play is designed to fool someone, make sure you aren't the fool.
Reply With Quote