View Single Post
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 09, 2008, 10:21am
JasonTX JasonTX is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Texas
Posts: 762
Quote:
Originally Posted by Larks
Can someone explain the "leverage" personal foul call in the Min / GB game last night?

Also, I believe in the Dal, Cle game there was an illegal formation on the D called on a PAT. Something about 2 guys over center?
I was hoping for a replay of the leverage play. From what I gather a defender ran forward and a teammate helped "lift" him up in an attempt block the kick. That is illegal. That's also illegal at the NCAA level.

On the Dal / Cle game. I believe the rule states that you cannot have a player directly in line with the snapper. You have to be in the gap. This is their version of protecting the snapper. NCAA doesn't have that rule, but we do have a rule that protects the snapper from being roughed until 1 second has elapsed when a team is in a scrimmage kick formation.
Reply With Quote