View Single Post
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 08, 2008, 11:43pm
ajmc ajmc is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,593
Sorry guys, I always give the benefit of the doubt to the field official who is reacting to something he sees in a split second. I can't this time. That call may have been justified by weasel wording the rule, but having seen the play live, the player DID NOT "throw the ball high into the air', he threw it over his right shoulder, backwards, straight down to the ground. It many have bounced high, but that was not visible.

This was clearly not intended as a "spike" and flagging it was an overreaction, had this play happened in the 1st quarter. The fact that it happened during the last timed down of a game, and the subsequent try could have tied the score and forced overtime, or potentially produced a potential 2 point conversion for the outright win ( not a likely choice) only adds to the unfortunate nature of the response.

Perhaps the supervisor wasn't more forceful backing this call because although it may have been proper, it wasn't right.
Reply With Quote