I know this thread is a couple of months old, but I had an issue come up this summer regarding the commit line. I play and sometimes umpire modified softball and this summer I umpired a couple of charity softball tournaments and when I say charity, I mean I did it for free.
At one point, I was questioned by a coach and he told me I needed to look this up, because I was wrong. He's been a little bi*^ch for years so I really didn't think much of it, but I'm going to see him this weekend and I'd like to throw this back at him.
Here's the play. Runners on 1st and 2nd. The ball his hit to the fence. Both baserunners score and the guy who hit came around third, crossed the commitment line and was subsequently called out. The coach claimed that since this was a force out, the other runs couldn't have scored. Because on the bases, it doesn't matter if you score before a force out is made or not, the run doesn't count.
I ruled that the run previously scored counted.
Any thoughts? Or, is there a rule?
|