View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Sep 07, 2008, 02:29pm
JugglingReferee JugglingReferee is offline
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
Lightbulb Canadian Ruling

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigGref
What is the call for a defender tackling an opponent who is obviously not a ball carrier? On the test it said it was defensive holding. Is this right?
CANADIAN RULING:

Absolutely this is defensive holding. The defense illegally took a potential blocker out of the play. Such judgment is probably among the more difficult types to learn/detect. It should be flagged only if it has an impact on the play, just as any other tactical foul is considered.

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigGref
Also as a side question... At what point, if any, do you call a penalty on a defender who hits a "soon to be receiver" behind the LOS? Obviously because it is behind the LOS it can't be DPI, but can it be other things (like holding, illegal contact, etc)?
CANADIAN RULING:

We do have DPI even if the receiver is behind the LS. DPI behind the LS is only if the ball is obviously thrown to said receiver.
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote