Quote:
Originally Posted by dumbref
If A1 regains his balance and makes a move up field and is then tackled by B48 at the 25, would that change your spot?
I saw a similar play in a HS game this week on ESPN. They spotted the ball at the catch instead of where he was contacted. On this point we are in total agreement – the spot can not be at the catch.
My question is - does the contact by B22 (without maintaining contact) end forward progress if A1 was already moving in that direction? If A1 makes any attempt to stop or change directions prior to or during contact, I totally agree with the spot at the 29. If he doesn’t - I’m not sure.
I’m not trying to make a point here – I’m truly asking a question. I’m not sure.
|
Perhaps I could have been a little more specific on the contact.... What I'm looking for here is significant contact that is going to more than likely result in a tackle. A hand brush across a thigh pad is not terribly significant. Any of us who have called more than a couple of games has a sense of when a carrier is going to be taken down. Granted we get supprized at times which is why we have slow whistles. When I get that "he's done" feeling I will make a mental note of the spot. If he voluntarily retreats to make another attempt I will again look for a point of contact/wrapup/grab whatever. The key is that he has voluntarily given ground versus being driven backwards by a defender. to answer your question, yes, if the carrier makes another attempt to gain yardage before I have ruled that there will be no more forward progress (usually a 2 count in my head) I will adjust my spot.
To summarize, I will give what they fight for, not what the defense takes from them.