View Single Post
  #27 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 02, 2008, 08:38pm
IRISHMAFIA IRISHMAFIA is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dakota
For there to be interference there must be a play that was interfered with.(Rule 1)

A play (again, Rule 1), is an attempt to retire a runner.

Yet, the defender who was crashed into did not have the ball.

Where was the play that was interfered with? If there was no play, how could there be interference?

Does "about to receive" come back? Do we have a broader definition of interference (no play necessary)?
What's your point? Other than you, no one has mentioned interference. Rule 8.5.Q directly addresses physical contact between a runner and fielder, not interference. If it were meant to be, it would be under 8.5.J.
Reply With Quote