Quote:
Quote:
Originally Posted by rngrck
and with elbows high, knocks down F2 as the ball arrives. PU calls malicious contact on R and obstruction on F2 with resulting ejection and awarding a scored run. Is this really OBS? Didn't R have opportunity to go around F2 within the 3 ft restriction?
|
|
As Bob says we need further clarification which you still did not provide.
First things first Fielders may position themselves anywhere they like.
Quote:
F2 is 6 ft up the 3rd base line awaiting throw from F7 for a apparent play at plate. Runner comes down the line
|
Based soley on this description we do not know if in fact F2 obstructed the runner.
1. Did F2 even though 6 ft. up the line provide any access to the base? or was the base COMPLETELY blocked?
2. Was the runner obstructed? meaning you did not mention anything about the runner other than he came in with elbows high and crashed F2. Did the runner have to slow down, alter his path etc.
IMO, all we know based upon your description of the play is that the runner maliciously (using your terminology elbows high, knocks down F2) contacted F2.
As Bob said under PURE OBR I would have nothing as we see this type of play many a time at home plate. Pete Rose, Erstand, etc. come to mind.
Under most amateur rule codes this would be MC meaning the player will get Ej'd. In FED / NCAA (assuming no OBS on the part of F2) we would also get the out. As Bob said there is no MC rule in NCAA but a no collision rule which is similar but not the same as FED's.
In Summary: Without providing further info it is very difficult to answer
Pete Booth